Fiji Free Trade Agreement

Achieving a high level of sustainable economic growth is an important development goal for the Forum countries. The Framework for Pacific Regionalism (2014) recognizes the need for a new inclusive and innovative approach that enables Heads of State and Government to address the unmet development needs of their populations. The Blue Pacific is an opportunity to demonstrate the value of networking within the Pacific – between traditional knowledge, science and integrated oceans management – and the fundamental link between oceans and trade and economic development. The Forum unites its common values, which guide all political development and implementation and work to deepen regionalism through economic and trade development (cooperation, integration, improved access to markets (goods, services, labour) and capital/finance. There are many opportunities for the region, including the emerging economies of our north, new trade agreements within PACER Plus for trade and investment, and the revival of existing trade agreements in the region. The Secretariat will seek to improve public financial management and diversify sources of financing, the private sector through its Pacific Trade and Invest Offices (Australia, New Zealand, Japan and China, others will follow), improve access to private capital, expand market space among members through existing contracts and the multilateral trading system. Increase investment and improve infrastructure in the region. The Forum secretariat`s policy work to address these challenges focuses on two main areas: the development and integration of regional trade and economic policy in counselling and advocacy. Picta is a key instrument on which 14 Pacific Island States (IPCs) have agreed to promote regional cooperation and integration through trade. PICTA`s accession jeopardizes the Cook Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI), Palau, PNG, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu. Picta was signed in 2001 and implementation of the agreement began in 2007.

However, only seven countries, namely the Cook Islands, Fiji, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu, have announced their willingness to trade under PICTA and are currently implementing the agreement. .